NAIPS for iPhone

Quickly download Met and NOTAMS

I haven’t forgotten NAIPS!

Update 23Jun10 – Sent in a patch 1.6.1 for Apple to approve. Fixes all of the issues I found with the new iOS4 plus a few other small bugs and improvements. Hopefully it will hit the street before the end of the month.

25May10 - It’s been a couple of months since I’ve done any major updates to NAIPS (mainly because it now has all of the main features on the Airservices website). Also because I’ve been putting most effort into OzRunways.

I’ve been putting a little work into NAIPS making small improvements and fixing a couple of minor bugs. Look out for the following improvements in 1.6.1 soon.

- Bug Fixes
- Added PWX (Port Wakefield airspace)
- Put most useful Charts at top of list (e.g. MSL, SIGWX & SATPIC)
- Area briefings now 4 numbers so you can input sub-FIRs manually – e.g. Area 50 is 9500 and Area 30 metro is 9309.
Once I get some more time on my hands I’ll look at what other major features I can put into NAIPS. The biggest one will probably be making it iPad compatible once I buy one.
May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Hi,

    Thanks for your email. Don’t worry about lack of improvements – NAIPS for iPhone is so useful in its present form I can’t think of any additions.

    One issue which happens frequently: the program refuses to supply data with the message: “connection error”. Generally, closing the ap and retrying solves the problem, but sometimes I elect to reboot the phone. I don’t know where the problem lies: iPhone? NAIPS ap? NAIPS computer?

    Cheers
    Peter

    Comment by Peter Wordsworth | May 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Peter – yeah unfortunately I can’t do much about the connection errors. The program uses all of the standard iPhone code for connecting to the net so most often it simply times out or the internet connection on the phone is flakey. That explains why often turning it off and on works to fix it. There is actually quite a bit of connecting done in the background too so if even one connection fails it will show connection error.

      Best bet is to keep trying a few times, restart the app or turn your phone to airplane mode and back to normal. Turning it off and on again should be last resort but has fixed network problems on my phone before.

      Rowan.

      Comment by naips | May 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. i have been useing naips for some time and find it very handy as in my job i never know where i am going to end up so to have access to the weather at my fingertips is fantastic . There is one problem owing to my iphones applications needing to be restored i have had to install my apps over and over. this time your app wants my user name and pass word i have tryed what i can remember nothing seems to work can you help please cheers Phil

    Comment by phil byatt | June 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Phil thanks for the positive feedback.

      The issue you might be talking about was the other day when airservices brought down naips for maintenance. On my phone it also kept giving the same error as it didn’t let anybody log in. It appears to be working again now though.

      If that’s not the case, you might need to go to http://www.airservices.gov.au/brief and find a link to get your username and password or get a new one. One you do that, it’s quite easy to type your username and password into iPhone naips on the Settings page (after you press the ‘more’ tab at the bottom).

      If your not sure whether it’s your username/password that is at fault, try logging into the airservices website above. If that doesn’t work, then your username and/or password is wrong and you will have to sort that out with airservices since all I do is replicate their site on iPhone.

      Cheers, Rowan.

      Comment by naips | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hi Rowan

    NAIPS issues using iOS4.

    1. Within saved entries you can update an entry however this occurs without the usual visual cues and then when a save is attempted it saves and exits the app.
    2. Still in saved entries, when Update all entries is selected it only updates the last entry again without visual cues and pressing the save button saves and exits the app.

    I deleted several entries and re-entered them, no change. I uninstalled the app and reinstalled, no change.

    Cheers,
    Jason

    Comment by Jason | June 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Jason, I’ll release a fix ASAP. Sounds like iOS4 has broken a few things now.

      Comment by naips | June 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. Rowan, I have a problem. I’ve used your NAIPS app almost since release. I now almost rely on it! But I’m an iPhone 3G user with several months to go under contract, and like many other iPhone 3G users my device runs like a pig under iOS 4.x. I’ve downgraded to 3.1.2. Now my device runs like it used to. No more waiting 30s for iCal to populate the calendar window! But I cannot put your NAIPS app back on — need v3.2 or higher.
    Can I access a previous version, or can you do something about the min iOS requirement?

    Comment by TropoBone | November 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey Nick – I hear your pain. The 3G is hating iOS 4.x lately. Apparently 4.2 is another minor improvement, but we’ll see.

      I can’t help you though unfortunately. The latest build I’ve developed has printing support which will be built against 4.2. It also now uses basic multi-tasking which requires 4.x

      I’ve been running ios4.2 for quite a while on my 3GS and it’s quite fast, even as a developer (debug) build.

      Or you could join the class action against Apple for allowing 4.x to slow their phones down to a brick!!

      Comment by naips | November 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

